Blood Warrior

blood warrior bio pic 3

Blood Warrior makes music that exposes the intricacies of melancholy, unravelling its individual strands of sadness, redemption, and contemplation. Blood Warrior is Greg Jamie and Joey Weiss, musicians who have been playing music together since high school, and whose musical bond was solidified in those formative years. There is a distinctly primitive vibe that permeates the music and a wide array of traditional styles, including Peruvian mountain music and Native American tribal drumming in addition to American folk music, are incorporated into these songs. Their idiosyncratic folk songs reflect this rawness, and they use guitars (at times purposefully detuned), harmonium, keyboards and sparse percussion to create music that is deceptively minimal.

Both Jamie and Weiss have been integral parts of the New England folk underground for some time. Greg’s venue The Oak & The Axe in Portland, Maine was a gathering place for forward-looking musicians in the area and he is also the frontman of O’Death.  Joey Weiss plays in Super Monster and also served as the recording engineer for these sessions.

Blood Warrior Myspace Page



SMR O20 + Blood Warrior

Track Listing
1. Blood Letting
2. Choir
3. King Day
4. Hummingbird
5. Snake Seet
6. Our Ship Was Sailing
7. Heaven
8. Darling Eyes
9. Winter’s Day